My Exit Letter

        “Elvis has left the building.”

-Al Dvorin           

 

OK, first of all: Why is it that when I am trying to find an appropriate funny and/or sarcastic pertinent goodbye quote, I can’t immediately find one? You try it. Google “goodbye quotes,” and “funny” or “humorous” isn’t even an option. They are all “ex-boyfriend,” or “broken heart,” along those lines (I’m looking in “images”). Ugh.

And what some people find “inspirational” seriously makes me want to vomit. How full of ourselves can we be (says the author of a blog written solely for others to read and admire)? And I have used far too many quotation marks here, so I’ll end this rant.

Anyways, I have to share this great article I found whilst quote hunting: 50 Great Famous Last Words from the Movies. I didn’t use anything from here, but it made for an entertaining read.

Why all the goodbye interest? I’m writing my exit letter to my contacts in the Real Estate world. My team leader thinks it would be a nice way of letting people know that I’m no longer an active agent (and, of course, to send some her way). I agree, but I’m having a little difficulty deciding what exactly to say.

Never let it be said that agents don’t earn every penny they charge in commission. And I am exceedingly grateful for the lesson in running your own business (I will never look at small business owners the same way again). But I have two trains of thought running through my head regarding how to write this notice of departure. One is: honest and poignant and upbeat. The other is: HONEST.

Let me run the HONEST version by you, tell me what you think:

 

Dear Friends and Family,

Two years ago, I sent you a letter letting you know that I was starting my real estate business. Boy, was I excited! Had my professional headshots done, had my crisp new branded business cards, and couldn’t wait to be your go-to girl for all your real estate needs.

Heck, you all know me in one capacity or another: the mom you always go to for advice, or the one you can count on to volunteer all her time to the school, the friend who answers your texts within minutes, or the person in the family who always seems to be handling the million things on her plate somehow successfully (even if you’re curious why I’m always acting like I have something to prove).

Well, things didn’t quite take off like I thought. The thing was, for the most part? Nobody really seemed to be all that on board with me. I was strung along, phone calls and emails went sometimes (mostly) unanswered . . .I would work my tail off for some of you, driving you all over town and researching areas, only to have you go with another agent. Or spend hours making fliers and walking a neighborhood soliciting sales when the inventory was tight . . .only to have you go with another agent. Or deal with other not-so-friendly agents on the phone begging them to give up their off market properties . . .only to have you go with another agent (see the pattern, here?). I made my little promotional give-aways and delivered them to your door (sometimes in the rain), only to find out that you forgot to refer me when someone you knew was looking for a real estate agent.

Two years of rejection can make you a little bitter.

I had one amazing experience selling a home for a friend that almost made me reconsider. To know that we not only made an amazing deal happen for the buyers, but also that it meant so much to my sellers and that they trusted me from start to finish gave me happy feelings overflowing for days . . .and then a client that I have been working with for over a year decided to . . .yup, go with another agent.

I am very fortunate to have married a man who has given me the freedom to raise our children full time. When the kids went back to school, I wanted to start a career to help support the family financially. Emotionally, I needed to feel like I could identify with something other than “mom,” and have accomplished something to be proud of outside of a loving household. Ray kept assuring me that it was enough to be there for the chickens and to raise them in all manners of awesome, but I still wanted more.

More, what? Rejection?

See, when you don’t need to be in a career that hates you, why do it? When the universe constantly tells you you would be better off doing something else, why not stop and listen?

Finally, I stopped. And listened. And as much as it kills me to up and quit anything . . . for the sake of my self esteem and sanity . . .

I AM OUT OF HERE.

The irony is, someone called me today to ask about a home for sale. Of course they did.

To those who supported me and cheered me on, thanks a million. To the others, you can now breathe a sigh of relief that you will not be getting any more annoying emails or calls that you have to delete.

Onward and upward! (mic drop)

Abby Olsen

 

So, there you have it in a nutshell. Bittersweet goodbye. But I have to say, I am definitely looking forward to what’s ahead.

For some reason, I think I can handle writer’s rejection.

 

Leave a Reply

