Image

Adventures in Melting

“Some people are worth melting for.”

-Olaf, Disney’s Frozen

 

So, since my daughter was turning fifteen-excuse-me-five, She-I decided to let her pick what her theme for her party was going to be.

You know, smart parenting.

“Bunnies!”

First thing that came to mind was chocolate bunny pops. Second thing was enclosing tiny bunny toys in homemade soaps as favors (creative thinking at an abridged thousand miles an hour on limited sleep and caffeine consumption). I was going to make both of these myself to help save some money and earn mommy kudos. Yup, shameless plug for exercising me some skills.

I’ve seen the sections for both at Michael’s, so I knew resources should be easy to come by. Sure, bunnies in December. How hard could it be?

Why Sees Candies Makes Millions

So, I buy all my chocolate melting supplies: Candy melts, squeezie bottles, sticks and bunny pop molds I had to special order (surprisingly cheap and quality, I have to say- I got super lucky). I might have heeded the warning from the candy people I spoke with, however (initially I was going to see if I could painlessly order them-turns out not so at $3 literally-a-pop):

“Make sure you temper the chocolate.”

Uh. OK.

Since the directions on my melt packages mentioned nothing on the tempering front, I thanked the lovely lady for the thoughtful advice, and promptly ignored it.

I decided since I needed both pink and blue bunny ear and bow accents, I would buy plain white chocolate and use coloring on two separate batches. After I got home from the store, however, I noticed that the coloring was “icing” coloring.

Oh well, right? Icing, candy, both sugar? Should be fine . . .

The pink coloring mixed in beautifully. Awesome! See? Nothing to worry about!

The blue . . .

I have a friend who won’t give her children anything artificially colored because they react to it by turning into demon children. Certain studies back this reasoning. I’m beginning to think there may be something to this after watching what the blue coloring did to my white chocolate.

It turned that creamy goodness into some bizarre sticky paste that refused to be manipulated into the squeezie bottle. Damn. Total waste, had to throw it all out.

Round two.

This time, I go ahead and actually purchase pink melts. Because, see . . .they actually make those. So that you don’t try to color them yourself and end up with sticky paste mess. Ahem.

Melts lovely, into the bottle it goes. But when I go to squeeze it, I’m finding it a little hard to come out. . .well, just muscle . . .a little . . .harder . . .

Sploooooooooge! All over the molds from out the sides of the bottle. Apparently, my bulging biceps were a little too much for the cheap plastic, and it broke a hole in the top. Leaving me with a pink Pepto Bismol nightmare everywhere. Sigh.

Well, after it dried, I remelted and tried again with another bottle, but for some reason still unclear to me, it did it again. Which it did not do with the first batch.

Could it be the tempering thing? Or karma from not heeding the warning to temper?

I was quickly losing my temper.

In the end, I ended up with half of my bunnies having cute pink details, the other half missing pink ears. But chocolate being chocolate, kids being kids, I doubted that anyone would care except me.

Besides, my soap making skills were on deck, and what could possibly go wrong there?

Why You Pay Big Bucks For Fancy Soap

I was creating a simple toy-in-the-soap soap. Thirty little bunnies would be encased in clear soap, encouraging kid hand washing in order to free them.

Easy! I got instructions online: pour half of the melted soap in the molds, insert toy after allowing a short cooling period, pour remaining soap over to cover. It seems I also needed a spray bottle of alcohol in order to eliminate bubbles.

I had a few more bunnies than kids coming, so I had the benefit of a few that could be “oopsies.” Plus, I allowed for more because, let’s face it:

I have a learning curve.

List of “oopsies”:

-If you don’t time the placement of the toy just right, it will float to the top of the soap (which is actually the bottom). One bunny who at first appeared to be cooperating in soap suspension popped up when my back was turned and ended up ears out. Sneaky bugger.

-Turns out, if you put the toys in too late, it creates a sort of pocket around the toy that looks like bunny blew himself an air chamber. Or maybe he actually did, I don’t know.

-Drench that soap with the alcohol (the website I visited said daintily, “spritz”). If bubbles are left behind, they make your soap look snotty. So kill them all.

-Attempting to pop out the soaps before they have become completely cooled will result in swearing, googling the phrase, “easy removal of soap from molds,” broken molds and warped soaps with dented tops.

-Make sure you buy enough soap to make what you need. Enough said there.

In the end, I had some nice bunny soaps and some others that ended up on the bottom of the goodie basket. Burrowing, if you will.

“Wow! You made these?! They’re so cute! Great job!”

Yeah, just don’t dig too deep.

 

Alexa’s birthday party favors were now complete. I am very surprised that this adventure was without a second degree burn thrown in there. . .

“Mommy? MOOOMMMYY? Next time? For my birthday . . .?”

Of course, there’s always next year.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

