All That And A Bag Of Chips

Well, it’s been a long time (again). And I am finally back on the writing horse (again, again).

So, let’s catch up:

I finally finished my typography and drawing courses (adding to the requirements for my Graphic Design degree), vowing never again to take a class from the pompous ass in typography, and no doubt exiting drawing with an insult thrown over my shoulder to my absolutely lovely art professor when I sent her a graphite-drawn portrait I created from her staff picture.

The kids finished up their school classes and started camp . . .at their school.

I might have a new job working as a sort of liason between my potential employer and the Girl Scouts (because apparently, I know people).

I survived the Girl Scout overnight. . .barely.

I broke down and bought a SeaWorld / Aquatica membership.

I’m now halfway through this “Back At It” Challenge at Orangetheory, which requires participants to show up to at least three classes a week. And I feel like I’m going to die.

I finished a flash fiction challenge, and can’t wait to get the feedback and results . . .but I have to wait until September (ugh.)

I’m back to desperately needing to cut Diet Dr. Pepper out of my diet. And cheese.

Things are back open and the world is full of all these opportunities to go out and do . . .everything! This presents a new problem, however . . .

I’m exhausted.

There is so much to do, that there is the pressure to get it all on our plate before it goes away again. Now the schedules are filling up with all of these activities that if I choose not to go participate in, I’m somehow depriving myself and my family of what could be a fleeting joy.

So, we rush to get to Aquatica before it’s gone (this is the last year, anyways).

And we rush to SeaWorld to get on all those new coasters that opened.

And we rush to RSVP to every playdate, overnight and birthday party thrown our way.

And we rush to be the first in line to everything because everything is sold-out if you wait too long: the drive-in, the festivals, the baseball games, the concerts . . .

Because they’re there.

It’s good, really. Just that we went zero-to-60 just like that. And I have to breathe a little to catch up.

I’ll get there. Really.

Today was a good start. Writing this in my blog / diary after months of staring at the computer with absolutely no push to document life or share reflections.

I finally got inspired by the writing challenge I decided to enter. Well, really more like it kicked my butt into gear, because you only have 48 hours to write a piece up to 1000 words based on the prompts you are assigned, and I was going to get my money’s worth.

Ray: “You paid for this contest?”

Me: “Yes, but you can win money and prizes!”

Ray: (thoughtfully) “I don’t know why anyone would pay someone else to do all that writing. . . but good luck.”

They gave writers a genre, setting, and featured object. Mine were better than some others (we can see the whole list from their website):

Genre: Mystery

Setting: Wine Cellar

Object: Jigsaw Puzzle

I wrote a short story about an escape room and two girls that try to solve the clues to get out. Not sure if that’s more “suspense,” though, and that would disqualify me . . .so fingers crossed.

That was the hurdle I had to jump over this weekend, and now over the last couple days I realized that there was little pressing my schedule (other than the morning classes at Orange I try to take every day). So I have been coming home, doing chores, and vegitating on the couch while scaring the crap out of myself (on purpose), watching Netflix’s “Haunting Of Hill House.” Because no one is home needing food or entertaining, and I can actually watch my shows on the living room TV.

Best. Afternoons. Ever.

But, of course this means getting moving again might be a little harder since I’ll be starting from stop.

Kinda like the world. Zero-to-60 and exhausting.

But I think I’ll just take advantage for now for these couple days and take my breath before foraging ahead.

Because . . .it’s what I do.

Leave a comment